I have been setting up new GRAV sites for a few months now. After my first setup, I was so impressed with GRAV that I started converting all of my own managed sites over. And now I'm gradually migrating them to 2.x and making improvements as I go.
Anyway, I was using AMPP when I first started, and then soon discovered Laragon and immediately switched to it. It is much friendlier to work with than XAMPP or AMPP-like setups.
However, I've discovered one thing that is a little annoying. Now I like to develop my sites locally and then transfer them by zipping up the /user folder of the local copy and unzipping it in place of the online copy. For a time, during this development, I would be updating via the admin on both the online version and the local version.
Consistently, on my Laragon sites running either 1.7 or 2.x if I perform an update of the main GRAV program, the update process kicked off from the admin will delete the index.php file and not bring it back. The update will finish but never refresh the screen upon finishing because it can't without the index.php file there.
I don't know if this is a Laragon config issue or just the way the update process is set to operate.
My workaround has been to go into the site backup files (cuz we all do a full backup before updating anything, right?) and pull out the old index.php back into the root folder, and then everything works, and I see my update did, in fact, complete, as the system now shows no new updates waiting.
I didn't see anyone else talking about this in the forum here, so figured I'd make a post about it.
Running on Laragon 8.6.1 260302 [default] PHP 8.3.30 [TS] on a Windows 10 workstation and tested against GRAV 1.7.x and 2.x
Also, it doesn't seem to matter whether the site is installed directly on Laragon or is a copied install from the online install, which I don't do the later anymore for various reasons. My current process is to do a clean install to both locations, and from then on I only copy back and forth the /user folder. I recently connected a couple v2.x sites to Claude using the API key so it can read and write directly to my online sites, which will greatly reduce hoop jumping for smaller changes to the sites. Still working the kinks out of that process, though, for some reason, the A.I. can't delete files like custom.css. It can edit them but can't delete and upload a new complete version, which seems weird to me, but it's likely a setting I missed or haven't yet found. ;-)
P.S. I'm sorry to have posted this in the wrong area; I had not seen the support section of the form, as it was below the fold. :-( I posted here in my rush to add my 2 cents.